Kentuckians on the front lines of the battle against the novel corona virus (COVID-19) pandemic need your help. Please inventory your practices for any and all personal protective equipment (PPE), medical supplies, and medical equipment – including gloves, face masks, N95 ventilators, respirators, goggles, gowns – that you can donate to the Department for Public Health for distribution to places in need of these life-saving materials. You can donate the items online at https://secure.kentucky.gov/formservices/TeamKentucky/PPE, or by calling 833-GIVE-PPE (833-448-3773).
The Board of Accountancy is the state agency responsible for licensing and regulating certified public accountants and certified public accounting firms. The Board is funded solely through fees charged to obtain and renew a license to practice public accounting and to sit for the CPA exam.
The Board office is located at 332 West Broadway Suite 310, Louisville KY 40202. Our phone number is (502) 595-3037 and our fax number is (502) 595-4500. You can also reach us at our email address firstname.lastname@example.org.
Due to COVID-19
please visit the Kentucky Department of Revenue’s website, https://revenue.ky.gov/Pages/2019NovelCoronavirus.aspx for important tax information.
REVISIONS TO THE CPE AND EXAM REGULATIONS
Please note the revisions to the regulations that govern CPE (201 KAR 1:100) and the CPA Exam (201 KAR 1:190).
Information on the process to submit comments is located toward the end of each proposed revision.
2020 LICENSE RENEWAL
Renewal reminder letters will be mailed in June. Please be sure your mailing address is correct in the online license verification search. If it is not correct, please click the Update Your Information link in the blue box at the top of this page to update your information. Do not send an update if your information is correct in the online search.
Even numbered individual licenses and all firms will renew online from July 1, 2020 - August 1, 2020. You will be required to pay the $100 licensing fee plus a processing fee via credit card. Please print your receipt at the end of the renewal session.
Any individual or firm that fails to renew by August 1 can pay $200, plus processing fees, to renew online from August 2 - September 1.
Under state law, any license not renewed by September 1 automatically expires and the holder of the expired license shall be prohibited from practicing public accounting or holding out as a certified public accountant. To reinstate an individual license you must complete the reinstatement process. Firms that fail to renew must contact the state board
office to be reinstated.
NASBA CPE Audit Service
On May 8, 2019, an email went out from the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy to Kentucky licensed CPAs which offered the opportunity to enroll in a program operated by that organization to manage CPE credit. The Kentucky Board of Accountancy is a member of this organization as is every state board of accountancy.
The program entitled, “cpe audit service”, is a free service for Kentucky licensed CPAs and CPAs in six other states to maintain their CPE records. Enrollment is strictly voluntary.
NASBA created this program a few years ago but recently came out with a new version. The creation of the program was in response to CPAs who requested assistance in keeping track of their CPE documents in the event they were selected to participate in the CPE audit operated by the Board.
CPAs employed by a firm that maintains their CPE records may continue to have their firm maintain their records and verify completion of the CPE requirements in the event the CPA is selected in the future for the CPE audit.
CPAs with a CPE retirement waiver should not participate in this program.
OUT OF STATE FIRM LICENSE RENEWAL CHANGE
As of July 14, 2018, a firm that does not operate an office in this state, holds a license in good standing from the state where their main office is located, and if applicable complies with the peer review requirements of this state (See KRS 325.301(10) is not required to obtain a license to provide public accounting services to a KY based client. Out of state firms may still submit an application to obtain a Kentucky firm license by completing the form contained on the In-State Firm Licensing Requirements page.
CPA EXAM SCORE RELEASE DATE FOR TESTING WINDOW January - March 2020
If you took a section of the exam beginning January - March 2020, your target score release dates are as follows:
January 1 - January 20 Your target release date is February 4
January 21 - February 14 your target release date is February 25
February 15 - February 28 your target release date is March 10
March 1 - March 10 your target release date is March 19
After March 11 your target release date is March 20
Continuing Professional Education ("CPE") hours must be completed in the two calendar years prior to the year during which a license is to be renewed. The two calendar years are referred to as the "reporting period". For those renewing their CPA license in 2019 this means all CPE hours must be completed beginning January 1, 2017 and ending December 31, 2018.
Any CPA who fails to complete the CPE by the December 31 deadline will not be eligible to renew his or her license. Instead the CPA will be required to use the reinstatement process.
Click on Reinstatement Requirements for additional information and to obtain an application. If you have any questions please contact the Board.
CPA Exam News
To see a breakdown on the exam fees, click on the following link: CPA EXAM FEES EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 19
To reprint your payment coupon or NTS, click on the following link to your NASBA CPA Candidate account (NASBA SSO): NASBA CPA Candidate Account.