To sit for the CPA Exam a candidate must meet the following requirements:
Be 18 years old; of good moral character; a graduate of an accredited college or university with a bachelor or master's degree that includes a concentration in accounting; and all candidates must have a Social Security number.
Each applicant must provide the Board with an official transcript that clearly indicates the applicant has earned a baccalaureate or master's degree with a concentration in accounting, and the date the degree was conferred (electronic transcripts not accepted). A concentration in accounting means a minimum of 39 semester hours in business-related subjects, of which at least 27 semester hours consists of accounting courses.
Accounting course means the subject matter contained in the course description or catalog issued by a college or university includes auditing, tax, accounting standards, principles, or processes. Business-related subjects means courses that contain in the course prefix or title an indication that the course subject matter is one of the following: business, finance, marketing, management, economics, computers, statistics, or accounting.
For a complete list of all of the requirements please see 201 KAR 1:190
Subject Areas/Length of Exam
The subject areas and times allotted per subject are:
Auditing and Attestation (AUD) – 4 hours
Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR) - 4 hours
Regulation (REG) - 4 hours
Business Environment and Concepts (BEC) - 4 hours
Candidates may apply to take one or more sections of the exam during a "testing window" but each section may only be taken once during a testing window. A "testing window" is a three-month period of time during which the candidate is able to take the exam. There are four "testing windows" each year. The exam is not offered during the last month of each window (referred to as "dark") to allow for maintenance on the system.
The testing windows are as follows:
January 1 - March 10 (March 11- 31 dark)
April 1 - June 10 (June 11 - 30 dark)
July 1 - September 10 (September 11- 30 dark)
October 1 - December 10 (December 11- 31 dark)
A score of 75 on each section is required to pass the exam. No minimum score is required on failed sections to retain a passing score. To read an explanation on the scoring process visit cpa-exam.org
Each passing score received on a section is valid for 18 months from the end of the month in which the section was taken. All sections must be passed within 18 months following the date the first section was passed.
The AICPA electronically sends exam grades to NASBA where they are then entered into the nationwide candidate database. NASBA then forwards the scores to the Board. Upon receipt, the Board distributes the scores to candidates via our website and through the mail. Exam grades are released based on the AICPA target timeline.
Fees to be paid to the Kentucky Board:
$30 - Initial Application - this is a one-time fee and will cover the cost of processing the application
$30 - Per Exam Section
A candidate must also pay fees to the AICPA, NASBA and Prometric. NASBA collects these fees on behalf of all three entities. Exam Fee Schedule
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
201 KAR 1:190
The Kentucky State Board of Accountancy complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and subsequent amendments. To ensure equal opportunity for all qualified persons, the Board will make reasonable modifications in the administration of the exam for candidates establishing the need for accommodation due to a disability that limits one or more of his or her major life activities. If a candidate believes he or she has a specific disability, which would require accommodation under the ADA, the candidate must complete and submit the Exam Applicant Special Accommodations Request Form
and the required supporting documentation. The Board is not responsible for any costs necessary to obtain the required diagnosis and recommendation, but will be responsible for reasonable costs associated with necessary and reasonable modifications.